RSS

A Summer of Books

09 May

Someone asked me a few weeks ago if I would be reading much this summer. I was stunned at first. Finally I managed, “That’s like asking me if I am going to breathe much this summer.” I think my initial shock is probably the sign of a severe book addiction. My family would certainly agree.

My room is dominated by bookshelves. Four of them. There’s the little one that I’ve had since I was in "Bookshelf," Tom Rustebergelementary school, the heavy one with glass doors, and the two matching shelves that are six or seven feet high. There are also books on my chair, books on the floor, and books on the night table.

As of right now, I’m in the middle of It Was Good: Making Art to the Glory of God. It’s a fabulous book if you’re a Christian who is at all interested in the arts. It covers the biblical philosophy behind art, as well as an interview and chapters written by Christian artists. Also, it has pictures. (That is, color photographs, of artwork, in this case—unusual to find in a paperback book, especially one meant for adults.)

The book includes chapters that deal with theatre, music, and writing, but its focus is largely on the visual arts. I’m no artist, of course. Thankfully the book uses very little technical jargon. The book builds on some of the concepts outlined by Gene Edward Veith in his book State of the Arts.

As for the rest of the summer? A friend took it upon herself to get me addicted to the Les Misérables musical, so I’m hoping to read the book this summer. I need to finish The Iliad, which classes forced me to abandon. And I want to get into Dostoevsky.

Most likely, however, those books will get read very slowly. Having four bookshelves in your bedroom is wonderful. And their contents are a horrible distraction.

 
 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “A Summer of Books

  1. www.pineneedlesandpapertrails.com

    May 10, 2013 at 1:33 am

    Having four bookshelves filled to overflowing sounds like great riches to me.

     
  2. Elizabeth @ DogFurandDandelions

    May 11, 2013 at 12:13 am

    Pretty sure I would have answered that question the same way! 🙂 What do you plan to read by Dostoevsky?

     
    • A. Carroll Crowe

      May 11, 2013 at 8:41 pm

      I’m hoping to read “Crime and Punishment” and “The Brothers Karamazov.” I’ve been told both are good. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
